Home / Hockey / Marlies’ Sparks, Pickard win Hap Holmes Award

Marlies’ Sparks, Pickard win Hap Holmes Award

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League introduced as we speak that Garret Sparks and Calvin Pickard of the Toronto Marlies are the recipients of the Harry “Hap” Holmes Memorial Award for the 2017-18 season. Since 1972, the award has been offered to the goaltender(s) with no less than 25 video games performed on the crew which permits the fewest targets per sport within the common season.

The Marlies allowed a median of two.24 targets per sport in 2017-18 en path to capturing the Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy because the AHL’s general regular-season champions with a file of 54-18-2-2 (112 factors, .737). Toronto completed with the fewest targets in opposition to within the AHL for the second time in crew historical past (2011-12).

Sparks, the Baz Bastien Award winner because the AHL’s excellent goaltender for 2017-18, was 31-9-2 in 43 appearances for the Marlies whereas main the league in wins (tied), goals-against common (1.79) and save proportion (.936) and rating second in shutouts (six).

Pickard, acquired by the Toronto Maple Leafs in a commerce with Vegas on Oct. 6, 2017, went 21-9-2 in 33 video games for the Marlies in 2017-18, with a 2.31 goals-against common, a .918 save proportion and one shutout.

The Harry “Hap” Holmes Memorial Award, which was first awarded in 1948 to the goaltender with one of the best goals-against common within the AHL, is called for Hockey Hall of Famer Harry “Hap” Holmes, a outstanding determine in early skilled hockey and an excellent goaltender of his time. Previous winners or co-winners of the award embrace Gil Mayer (1951, ’53, ’54, ’55, ’56), Johnny Bower (1957, ’58), Marcel Paille (1961, ’62), Gerry Cheevers (1965), Gilles Villemure (1969, ’70), Pete Peeters (1979), Pelle Lindbergh (1981), Clint Malarchuk (1983), Vincent Riendeau (1987, ’88), Corey Hirsch (1993), Olaf Kolzig (1994), Byron Dafoe (1994), Mike Dunham (1995), Manny Legace (1996), Jean-Sebastien Giguere (1998), Martin Biron (1999), Cory Schneider (2009), Matt Murray (2015), Peter Budaj (2016), Tristan Jarry (2017) and Casey DeSmith (2017).

In operation since 1936, the American Hockey League continues to function the highest improvement league for all 31 National Hockey League groups. More than 87 p.c of all gamers competing within the NHL are AHL graduates, and thru the years the American Hockey League has been house to greater than 100 honored members of the Hockey Hall of Fame. Sixteen golf equipment will proceed to vie for the league’s coveted championship trophy when the 2018 Calder Cup Playoffs get underway Thursday.

Source hyperlink

About AzeemAnjum

Check Also

Big start helps Griffins even series

Down a sport within the series and down a aim early in Game 2, Grand …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: