Home / Hockey / Moose’s Vincent earns top coach honors for 2017-18

Moose’s Vincent earns top coach honors for 2017-18

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League introduced as we speak that Pascal Vincent of the Manitoba Moose is the winner of the Louis A.R. Pieri Memorial Award because the AHL’s excellent coach for the 2017-18 season.

The award is voted on by fellow coaches and members of the media in every of the league’s 30 cities.

Photo: Jonathan Kozub

Vincent has guided the Moose to a 20-point enchancment over final season, going from a seventh-place end within the Central Division in 2016-17 to a Calder Cup Playoff berth and vying for the division title getting into the ultimate week of 2017-18. Under Vincent this 12 months, Manitoba set a number of franchise data, together with a .724 first-half report that helped earn Vincent the glory of teaching within the 2018 AHL All-Star Classic. Vincent’s Moose rank among the many top 5 within the league in each targets for (three.36, T-Third) and targets in opposition to per recreation (2.66, fifth), and in addition personal the second-ranked energy play within the league at 21.2 % effectivity. In addition, Vincent has been instrumental within the improvement of many members of the guardian Winnipeg Jets, who completed with the second-best report within the National Hockey League this season.

A 46-year-old native of Laval, Que., Vincent is in his second season as head coach of the Moose following 5 years as an assistant coach with the Jets. One of the unique hires on Winnipeg’s employees after they returned to the NHL in 2011, he helped information the Jets to a report of 176-156-44 and a berth within the 2015 Stanley Cup Playoffs. Before becoming a member of the group, Vincent was a head coach within the QMJHL for 12 seasons with Montreal and Cape Breton, incomes league coach of the 12 months honors in 2007-08.

The Louis A.R. Pieri Memorial Award, which was first introduced in 1968, honors the late Mr. Pieri, a long-time contributor to the AHL because the proprietor and common supervisor of the Providence Reds and a member of the American Hockey League Hall of Fame. Previous winners of the award embrace Frank Mathers (1969), Fred Shero (1970), Al MacNeil (1972, ’77), John Muckler (1975), Jacques Demers (1983), Larry Pleau (1987), Mike Milbury (1988), John Paddock (1988), Marc Crawford (1993), Barry Trotz (1994), Robbie Ftorek (1995, ’96), Peter Laviolette (1999), Claude Julien and Geoff Ward (2003), Claude Noel (2004), Randy Cunneyworth (2005), Kevin Dineen (2006), Scott Gordon (2008), Scott Arniel (2009), John Hynes (2011), Jon Cooper (2012), Willie Desjardins (2013), Jeff Blashill (2014), Mike Stothers (2015), Rick Kowalsky (2016) and Roy Sommer (2017).

In operation since 1936, the American Hockey League continues to function the top improvement league for all 30 National Hockey League groups. Nearly 90 % of all gamers competing within the NHL are AHL graduates, and thru the years the American Hockey League has been dwelling to greater than 100 honored members of the Hockey Hall of Fame. The 2017-18 common season ends Sunday, after which 16 golf equipment will proceed to vie for the league’s coveted championship trophy when the 2018 Calder Cup Playoffs get underway subsequent week.

The winner of the 2017-18 Eddie Shore Award (excellent defenseman) will probably be introduced Tuesday.

Source hyperlink

About AzeemAnjum

Check Also

LGD: Don’t get mad, get even

Well, we’re lastly right here. Game Four of the Leafs’ first spherical collection in opposition …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: