Home / Hockey / Phantoms’ Varone voted AHL MVP

Phantoms’ Varone voted AHL MVP

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League introduced at the moment that ahead Phil Varone of the Lehigh Valley Phantoms has been voted the winner of the Les Cunningham Award because the AHL’s most respected participant for the 2017-18 season.

The award is voted on by coaches, gamers and members of the media in every of the league’s 30 cities.

JustSports Photography

Varone enters the ultimate weekend of the common season tied for the league scoring lead with 70 factors in 73 video games performed for the Atlantic Division champion Phantoms, establishing profession highs in targets (23), assists (47) and factors. The seventh-year professional has additionally scored seven power-play targets and 5 game-winners, and he has gone back-to-back video games and not using a level solely 3 times all season. Varone’s 15 multiple-point efforts embrace a four-assist recreation at Binghamton on Nov. four, and his first profession hat trick at Utica on Feb. 21. Lehigh Valley is 37-7-Three-1 this season in video games when Varone information a degree, and 16-1-2-1 when he scores a aim.

A 27-year-old native of Vaughan, Ont., Varone has totaled 112 targets and 256 assists for 368 factors in 465 video games over his seven seasons with Lehigh Valley, Binghamton and Rochester. Originally a fifth-round draft decide by the San Jose Sharks in 2009, Varone appeared in 50 National Hockey League video games with Buffalo and Ottawa (5 targets, 5 assists) earlier than signing as a free agent with the Philadelphia Flyers on July 1, 2017.

The AHL’s most respected participant award honors the late Les Cunningham, a member of the AHL Hall of Fame who was a five-time league All-Star and three-time Calder Cup champion with the Cleveland Barons. Previous winners of the award embrace Carl Liscombe (1948, ’49), Johnny Bower (1956, ’57, ’58), Fred Glover (1960, ’62, ’64), Mike Nykoluk (1967), Gilles Villemure (1969, ’70), Doug Gibson (1975, ’77), Pelle Lindbergh (1981), Paul Gardner (1985, ’86), Tim Tookey (1987), Jody Gage (1988), John Anderson (1992), Don Biggs (1993), Derek Armstrong (2001), Jason Spezza (2005), Darren Haydar (2007), Keith Aucoin (2010), Tyler Johnson (2013), Travis Morin (2014), Brian O’Neill (2015), Chris Bourque (2016) and Kenny Agostino (2017).

In operation since 1936, the American Hockey League continues to function the highest improvement league for all 31 National Hockey League groups. More than 87 p.c of all gamers competing within the NHL are AHL graduates, and thru the years the American Hockey League has been residence to greater than 100 honored members of the Hockey Hall of Fame. The 2017-18 common season ends Sunday, after which 16 golf equipment will proceed to vie for the league’s coveted championship trophy when the 2018 Calder Cup Playoffs get underway subsequent week.

Source hyperlink

About AzeemAnjum

Check Also

Checkers drawing on experience to fuel playoff run

While they boast one of many youngest rosters within the AHL, a number of Checkers …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: