Home / Hockey / Wolves’ Vaughan named 2017-18 AHL Man of the Year

Wolves’ Vaughan named 2017-18 AHL Man of the Year

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League introduced right now that Scooter Vaughan of the Chicago Wolves has been chosen as the winner of the Yanick Dupre Memorial Award as the 2017-18 IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year.

This award has been offered yearly since 1998 to an AHL participant for his excellent contributions to his local people and charitable organizations. The Yanick Dupre Memorial Award winner is chosen by the AHL and representatives from IOA and American Specialty from amongst 30 particular person group Man of the Year honorees.

Front and heart at Wolves occasions like charity auctions, fan meet-and-greets, hockey clinics and extra, Vaughan continues to construct lasting relationships which are a testomony to the influence he’s making on the Chicagoland group. Vaughan has an genuine, outgoing and charismatic character that helps drive the efforts of Chicago Wolves Charities, the group’s charitable arm that contributes to all kinds of native causes.

Among these charities is Kids for Camps, which Vaughan himself created with a mission to construct brighter futures for youths by means of participation in sports activities so as to understand their true potential, regardless of their monetary conditions. And conscious of his personal upbringing, Vaughan additionally based Swaggy Clause, a line of Christmas ornaments and sweaters focused in the direction of African-American households, with a portion of proceeds going again to Chicago Wolves Charities.

A 29-year-old native of southern California and the solely youngster of a chemical engineer father and an legal professional mom, Vaughan spent 4 years at the University of Michigan creating passions starting from enterprise to music; he’s an aspiring guitarist and entrepreneur along with his hockey profession that has seen him play 293 AHL video games over the final 5 seasons with Chicago and Bridgeport.

The AHL’s annual Man of the Year award is named after the late Yanick Dupre, who handed away in 1997 at the age of 24 following a 16-month battle with leukemia. A second-round draft decide of the Philadelphia Flyers in 1991, Dupre performed 4 seasons in the AHL with the Hershey Bears and was an AHL All-Star in 1995.

In operation since 1936, the American Hockey League continues to function the high improvement league for all 31 National Hockey League groups. More than 87 p.c of all gamers competing in the NHL are AHL graduates, and thru the years the American Hockey League has been house to greater than 100 honored members of the Hockey Hall of Fame. The 2017-18 common season ends Sunday, after which 16 golf equipment will proceed to vie for the league’s coveted championship trophy when the 2018 Calder Cup Playoffs get underway subsequent week.

The winner of the 2017-18 Dudley “Red” Garrett Memorial Award (excellent rookie) can be introduced later right now.

Source hyperlink

About AzeemAnjum

Check Also

Svechnikov could provide scoring punch for Griffins

Shake collectively the mixture of these lacking and the corps producing and it could make …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: